I, Leftover

itclogo.gif

Web2.0 gives power to the people, but those who talk about it are mostly interested in how the newly empowered people could be re-tamed and harnessed (what a horrible word) into a huge, faceless mass of buyers.

How do we make money from Open Source? When will Jimmy milk the Wikipedia cow? How do we harness the billion 50 cents? In other words, the mainstream discussion is always evolving around the “show me the money” and “where’s the business model”, with the underlying assumption that the right to exist (and to be empowered) should only be granted to money-generating objects.

Somehow, Prof. Benkler succeeded in discussing Grid, Wikipedia, Skype, Open Source and Citizen Media without falling into the “show me the money” trap. There was a different, human undertone to his lecture and I think it’s the first time I heard a web2.0 talk that really empowered me for what I am, i.e. a leftover.

I, Leftover.

The leftovers are taking over; the residuals and the idles are beating up the stronger and the brighter. It’s the time of the “Ordinaries” (and some are absolutely abhorred by that).

This is the real change, as so far the leftovers were only valuable because of their money. No one expected nor wanted them to contribute. “Contribution” has always been institutionalized, and research was always funded by econo-political interests.

But now the power to decide is at the hands of “I, Leftover”. When “I, Leftover” downloads a SETI@Home screensaver, she’s not only contributing processing power to a noble cause, but also making the SETI@Home project possible. When “I, Leftover” uses Skype, he’s not only saving money, but also helping to bring free voice to everybody, by making Skype possible (because of Skype’s p2p nature).

My point is that great things are now dependent on individual, layman decisions. I, as a leftover, find it encouraging.

yochai-benkler.jpg

podcastIcon1.gif Yochai Benkler – Participation Revolution, 33:32, 15.3 mb, Oct 21st, 2005

Original Podlink: Participation Revolution

technorati1.jpg Technorati Yochai Benkler, Technorati the Podlink

2 Responses to “I, Leftover”

  1. Robert Says:

    You can bet the people who see things in terms of money aren’t going to go quietly. Prof. Benkler is right, we are on the cusp of change in the way society functions at a very core level. When Europe went from being ruled by aristocrats to democracy, the places that changed quickly saw violent upheavel and, I regret, I’m sure we will see the same. RIAA lawsuits are just the beginning. As the power changes hands and is slowly redistributed, those who have it now aren’t going to be happy.

  2. Muli Koppel Says:

    Robert,

    Thanks for passing by.

    I think likewise, and you can hear it in my introduction, as well as in the selection of “Leftover”, rather than user-centric, user-empowered and all those other nice labels, which mask the dialectic in our current existence as a point on the long tail: we’re empowered but nevertheless harnessed. etc.

Leave a Reply

